Scottish Parliament says yes to same-sex marriages

"Bi Do!"The Scottish Parliament has passed the Same-Sex Marriage (Scotland) Bill by a huge 108 to 15 vote margin today.

The vote to pass the bill at third and final reading was not unexpected as the previous stages had also passed by significant margins.

Westminster voted through its same-sex marriage bill last summer which comes into effect at the end of March, so it is expected a similar length of delay in implementation would mean the first same-sex weddings in Scotland this autumn.

There will be some small differences between same-sex marriage North and South of the border.

18 MSPs voted against the bill: Dr Alasdair Allan (Na h-Eileanan an Iar – SNP), Gavin Brown (Lothian – Con), Roseanna Cunningham (Perthshire South and Kinross-shire – SNP), Fergus Ewing (Inverness and Nairn – SNP), Alex Fergusson (Galloway and West Dumfries – Con), Murdo Fraser (Mid Scotland and Fife – Con), Alex Johnstone (North East Scotland – Con), Richard Lyle (Central Scotland – SNP), Angus MacDonald (Falkirk East – SNP), John Mason (Glasgow Shettleston – SNP), Jamie McGrigor (Highlands and Islands – Con), Michael McMahon (Uddingston and Bellshill – Lab), Siobhan McMahon (Central Scotland – Lab), Nanette Milne (North East Scotland – Con), Margaret Mitchell (Central Scotland – Con), Elaine Smith (Coatbridge and Chryston – Lab), Liz Smith (Mid Scotland and Fife – Con), Dave Thompson (Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch – SNP).